If you were arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) in Texas, it is important to realize that you face both criminal and civil penalties. You need to call an experienced, driven, and skilled Lake Jackson DWI defense attorney at JM Davis Law PLLC immediately for defense in both areas. Our team can provide you with a free case consultation and ensure you have the information you need to protect your driver's license from suspension or revocation.
If you were charged with DWI in Texas, realize that you face both criminal and civil penalties. Your driver's license could be suspended or revoked. A criminal prosecution will result from the criminal charge itself and an administration license suspension will result from the person's refusal to submit to, or failure of, the breath test requested in accordance with Texas "implied consent" laws.
Remember: You have just 15 days from the date of your arrest to ask for an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing. These hearings allow drivers to fight for their licenses after being stopped for an intoxication offense or for refusing a breath or blood test. If you do not request an ALR hearing, your license will automatically be suspended. Speak with our DWI lawyer now about your case. The sooner you act, the better. In addition, requesting your ALR hearing can have a positive impact on your criminal case. Contact JM Davis Law PLLC to learn more.
Your license can be suspended anywhere from 90 days to two years, depending on:
Learn more about how our team at JM Davis Law PLLC can protect your license: Call us now at (855) 390-0455 for a free case evaluation. We serve clients in Houston, Lake Jackson, and surrounding communities.
If you know that you can pass the tests when asked to perform them, you can choose to take them--but keep in kind many peiple can't pass them when they are sober! attempt them.
Otherwise, tell the officer you’d like to contact a lawyer, and refuse the field sobriety tests without a lawyer present.
Another approach you could take is asking the officer if you’re required to take the field sobriety tests. The honest answer: no, you’re not.
Stay polite and courteous, but do not apologize or admit to anything. Don’t try to talk your way out of anything, as you will likely incriminate yourself indoing so.
Exercise your rights. When the officer asks you incriminating questions-How much have you had to drink? When did you have your first drink? and so on...explain that your are uncomfortable answering questions of a criminal nature without an attornery present-ask to have your attorney present for any questioning, and tell the officer you otherwise would like to exercise your right to remain silent. Regardless of his response to your statements (“You’re not under arrest” or “You don’t need an attorney”), remain silent.
Client was on parole with six years remaining and was charged with assault of a family member. Police had multiple witnesses and photos of alleged injuries. We were able to discredit all witnesses and ...
Client was in an auto accident and suffered a fractured right arm. After attempting to deal with the issue herself, she got nowhere. The insurance company claimed their insured was not at fault due to ...
Client was pulled for driving the wrong way down the road. He had open beer cans throughout his vehicle and a failed breath test. Client had medical conditions that we claimed called the breath test ...